Shelter (inbunden)
Fler böcker inom
Format
Inbunden (Hardback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
432
Utgivningsdatum
2017-07-27
Förlag
Zaffre Publishing
Dimensioner
224 x 150 x 37 mm
Vikt
562 g
ISBN
9781785762994
Shelter (inbunden)

Shelter

'One of the year's hottest debuts'

Inbunden Engelska, 2017-07-27
159
Skickas inom 7-10 vardagar.
Fri frakt inom Sverige för privatpersoner.
Finns även som
Visa alla 1 format & utgåvor
'Beautiful' Adele Parks 'Life affirming and compelling!' Clare Mackintosh 'Tender and illuminating' Carys Bray 'Its characters pulse with life and energy . . . vividly rendered' Daily Mail Perfect for fans of Early One Morning by Virginia Baily and the novels of Maggie O'Farrell. Early spring 1944. Connie Granger has escaped her bombed-out city home, finding refuge in the Women's Timber Corps. For her, this remote community must now serve a secret purpose. Seppe, an Italian prisoner of war, is haunted by his memories. In the forest camp, he finds a strange kind of freedom. Their meeting signals new beginnings. But as they are drawn together, the world outside their forest haven is being torn apart. Old certainties are crumbling, and both must now make a life-defining choice. What price will they pay for freedom? What will they fight to protect? What readers are saying about Shelter: 'Tender, moving . . . with its unforgettable heroine' Irish Times 'Powerful and moving. Connie and Seppe are amazing characters. So well nuanced. I loved her feisty courage. And such heartbreak! This compelling debut shows how outsiders in a time of war seek to rebuild their lives again' Essie Fox, author of The Last Days of Leda Grey 'I LOVED it. Seppe is one of the most refreshing portrayals of masculinity I have ever read' Shelley Harris, author of Jubilee 'A lovely hymn to the woods and the men and women who worked there during the Second World War' Lissa Evans, author of Their Finest Hour 'The deeply profound effects of war quietly resonate through Sarah Franklin's gentle but delightful debut. Filled with characters armed with little more than their steadfast resolve and plucky humour, Shelter casts a light on the often forgotten work of the Women's Timber Corps and presents it with charm and delicately refreshing warmth' Jason Hewitt, author of Devastation Road 'A brilliant book. Everyone should read it' Alex Reeve, author of House on Half Moon Street 'Such a treat . . . a super sense of place' Rachael Beale, London Review Bookshop 'Beautifully written . . . Authentic and honest' Roger Deek, 'Reading the Forest' 'An impressive debut' WhatCathyReadNext 'Fresh, moving and redemptive' Literary Sofa 'One of the year's hottest debuts' NetGalley, Book of the Month 'Evocative, beautifully complex characters you grow to adore and a grittiness that grounds you within its message of loss, hope and what home really means' Goodreads 5* review 'The book is really fantastic. It's Sarah Franklin's debut novel but I really hope she's working on her second one right now' NetGalley Reviewer 'A tender, empathetic novel' NetGalley Reviewer 'Spirited, determined and reckless, the Second World War brings Connie the opportunity to seek what she's looking for, but the price for that opportunity is a high one . . . an impressive debut' NetGalley Reviewer
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. Shelter
  2. +
  3. The Last Man

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt The Last Man av Mary Shelley (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 208 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Recensioner i media

Its characters pulse with life and energy - Connie's contrary longings and Seppe's difficult journey to inner peace are vividly rendered, as is the evocation of the forest and its healing qualities * Daily Mail * This beautifully crafted tale of survival and solace reveals that you can find a home in the most unusual places * Sunday Express * The wartime lives of both Italian POWs and the lumberjills have received surprisingly little cultural attention over the years; in Franklin's tender, moving debut novel, with its unforgettable heroine, those experiences get the loving attention they deserve. * The Irish Times * A mesmerising wartime story about identity * The Irish Examiner * An accomplished debut from Sarah Franklin, Shelter is the perfect read for those who enjoy historical fiction with humour, warmth and a real sense of place * Daily Record * A beautifully written, gentle, hopeful book * Lucy Atkins, author of The Night Visitor * Meticulously researched and beautifully written, this is a life-affirming and compelling debut -- Clare Mackintosh * Compulsive Readers * I really enjoyed the novel. You caught the period and the place beautifully and Connie and Seppe's story is very moving. Hats off -- Fanny Blake I found this a fascinating and assured debut * Woman and Home * These two displaced people find solace with the rhythms of nature and with each other until the secret that Connie has been hiding threatens to tear them apart. A wonderful, affecting debut novel about the redemptive power of nature * Red Magazine * Shelter is an atmospheric debut and a fascinating glimpse into a forgotten aspect of WWII by Sarah Franklin * Good Housekeeping * Oh, this ticks all my historical-fiction boxes and more: beautifully atmospheric, detailed scene setting and characters that not only immerse you fully in their era but lead you to a greater understanding of it. (I wouldn't be surprised if it's snapped up for adaptation, Atonement-style). * The Pool, Book at Bedtime * Forest heritage is built on stories not monuments, and this story of love, identity and finding happiness will appeal to a local audience and contribute to our idea of ourselves and our past * Reading the Forest * The understanding of foresters ways, their sheep, mines and dialect and the geography of the forest are perfectly captured in this well researched book... * The Forester * A tender and moving debut, which examines the way one can live through love, loss and duty...something wonderful * OX Magazine * First I thought it was a WW2 story, then I thought it was a romance, then I thought it was a story about the power of motherhood and then I thought it was a book specifically designed to toy with my delicate emotions. Sarah Franklin's Shelter is all this and more...This book was a delightful and moving story of the struggles of losing one's identity and having to find it in unfamiliar places with unlikely individuals. It speaks of permanence (and a lack of it) in a way that makes this girl away from home feel a little teary * Chain Interaction * What a fascinating read - a slow read that like the trees in the forest, draws you into the shadows and envelopes you right into the heart of the story. It's a very unique angle on the 2ww and the insights into what the war effort could really mean * The Book Trail * I always admire an author who is brave enough not to spell out the conclusion of a book but to let the reader imagine it for themselves. I thought this was an impressive debut * What Cathy Read Next * Packed full of beautiful, touching characters in a story that's as refreshing as it is romantic. Connie and Seppe are the leads here - and Franklin brings them to life in vivid colour. They both have hugely compelling backstories...despite the 60 odd years that has passed since the book was set, and the wildly different circumstances that readers today will be in, these characters are so vivid that they feel like people you could bump into in the street (or,

Bloggat om Shelter

Övrig information

Sarah Franklin grew up in rural Gloucestershire and has lived in Austria, Germany, the USA and Ireland. She lectures in publishing at Oxford Brookes University and has written for the Guardian, Psychologies magazine, The Pool, the Sunday Express and the Seattle Times. Sarah is the founder and host of Short Stories Aloud, and a judge for the Costa Short Story Award. She lives between Oxford and London with her family. @SarahEFranklin #GiveMeShelter