The World Doesn't Require You (häftad)
Fler böcker inom
Format
Häftad (Paperback / softback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
320
Utgivningsdatum
2020-09-03
Förlag
Head of Zeus -- an AdAstra Book
ISBN
9781800244337
The World Doesn't Require You (häftad)

The World Doesn't Require You

Häftad Engelska, 2020-09-03
159
  • Skickas inom 5-8 vardagar.
  • Gratis frakt inom Sverige över 159 kr för privatpersoner.
  • Köp nu, betala sen med
Finns även som
Visa alla 3 format & utgåvor
Welcome to Cross River, Maryland. Established by the leaders of the country's only successful slave revolt, history casts a long shadow over its residents. Among them are David Sherman, a struggling musician who just happens to be the last son of God; Jim, a Robot Personal Helper desperate to escape the master who enslaves him; and James-my-man, who travels the path of the Underground Railroad year after year.Not to forget the water women who lure men to their watery graves and the screecher birds who cry out for sacrificial flesh... PRAISE FOR THE WORLD DOESN'T REQUIRE YOU:'I wandered into Cross River, not knowing a damn thing. Now I'm shuddering, gasping in wonder, reading stories over and over, and doing just about anything so that I never leave' MARLON JAMES 'A musical and visceral explosion. The book makes you laugh even as it stabs. The truth told in a completely new way' NANA KWAME ADJEI-BRENYAH 'Flat-out unputdownable' LAURA VAN DEN BERG 'Rion Amilcar Scott doesn't hold back or tiptoe around issues about race. He's the most courageous writer I know; and this collection is an excellent example and significant achievement. He's now made his mark as a force to reckon with' NICOLE DENNIS-BENN 'Surreal, intertextual, and darkly comical ... With breathtaking cruelty and devastating humor, Scott adduces the whole world in one community' NAFISSA THOMPSON-SPIRES
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. The World Doesn't Require You
  2. +
  3. Unconquerable Sun

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt Unconquerable Sun av Kate Elliott (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 255 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Rion Amilcar Scott

Recensioner i media

'Rion Amilcar Scott proves himself an impressive myth-slayer and fable-maker ... The World Doesn't Require You reminds us that having to fight racism has a strange way of distorting everything one touches' * New York Times Book Review * 'A rich, genre-splicing mix of alternate history, magical realism and satire that interrogates issues of race, sexism and where both meet here in the real world' * Los Angeles Times * 'Bizarre, tender and brilliantly imagined, The World Doesn't Require You isn't just one of the most inventive books of the year, it's also one of the best' * NPR * 'A bleak and beautiful collection of short stories ... Scott demonstrates the skill and long-range vision of a writer we need right now. The World Doesn't Require You requires a commitment from readers, one that will be greatly repaid in literary satisfaction' * USA TODAY * 'Surreal, intertextual, and darkly comical stories ... Rion Amilcar Scott writes in the tradition of George Schuyler and Ishmael Reed but with a distinctive wry, playful voice that is wholly his own. With breathtaking cruelty and devastating humor, Scott adduces the whole world in one community' -- Nafissa Thompson-Spires, author of Heads of the Colored People 'I wandered into Cross River, not knowing a damn thing. Now I'm shuddering, gasping in wonder, reading stories over and over, and doing just about anything so that I never leave' -- Marlon James, Booker Prize-winning author of A History of Seven Killings 'A musical and visceral explosion. The book makes you laugh even as it stabs. The truth told in a completely new way' -- Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah, author of Friday Black 'A bold new talent emerges with this boundary-shattering collection' * Esquire * 'Scott joins a growing tradition of African-American authors fusing the folksy dystopian humor of George Saunders with the charged satire of Ishmael Reed and expands on it brilliantly' * New York magazine. * 'God may have forsaken [these characters], Scott does not. The World Doesn't Require You is full of horrible, ridiculous people, but it's full of grace, too' * A.V. Club. * 'A major unique literary talent' * Entertainment Weekly * 'Flat-out unputdownable' -- Laura van den Berg, author of The Third Hotel 'Rion Amilcar Scott doesn't hold back or tiptoe around issues about race. He's the most courageous writer I know; and this collection is an excellent example and significant achievement. He's now made his mark as a force to reckon with' -- Nicole Dennis-Benn, author of Patsy 'Powerful and revelatory' * Salon * 'Weaves incisive criticism, dark humor, and magical realism in profound explorations of belief, love, justice, and violence' * BuzzFeed * 'We have so far to go and so little time to get there, Scott seems to say. Maybe spending a few hours in Cross River will help build a bridge. Or blow one up, if need be' * Washington Post * 'An 'impressive myth-slayer' ... [Scott] shows that 'sidelining' white racist characters doesn't erase the effects of slavery' * New York Times Sunday * 'Thought-provoking tales that will flow from page to page, steeped in abstract mysticism' * Bad Form Review * 'Threading together tales of adrenaline, violence and rhythm, American writer Rion Amilcar Scott presents a stunning narrative that bestows its shine from its sharp edges ... The World Doesn't Require You reminds us of the fruitful space between the surreal, the horrific and the run-of-the-mill. Rion Amilcar Scott is a writer that we will continue to expect great things from' * Glass *

Övrig information

Rion Amilcar Scott is the author of the story collection, The World Doesn't Require You (Norton/Liveright, August 2019). His debut story collection, Insurrections (University Press of Kentucky, 2016), was awarded the 2017 PEN/Bingham Prize for Debut Fiction and the 2017 Hillsdale Award from the Fellowship of Southern Writers. His work has been published in journals such as The Kenyon Review, Crab Orchard Review, and The Rumpus, among others. He lives in Annapolis, MD with his wife and two sons.