The Lost Daughters of Ukraine (inbunden)
Fler böcker inom
Format
Inbunden (Hardback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
338
Inläsare
Laurel Lefkow
Utgivningsdatum
2023-04-24
Förlag
Boldwood Books Ltd
Dimensioner
229 x 152 x 25 mm
Vikt
581 g
Antal komponenter
1
ISBN
9781804157718

The Lost Daughters of Ukraine

A heartbreaking WW2 historical novel inspired by a true story - From the bestselling author of The Memory Keeper of Kyiv.

Inbunden,  Engelska, 2023-04-24
320
Billigast på PriceRunner
  • Skickas från oss inom 7-10 vardagar.
  • Fri frakt över 249 kr för privatkunder i Sverige.
Finns även som
Visa alla 3 format & utgåvor
The brand new historical novel from Erin Litteken, bestselling author of The Memory Keeper of Kyiv, based on her family's heart-wrenching escape from war-torn Europe.A story of the strength of the human spirit, the personal cost of conflict and how love can be found even in the darkest times. Summer 1941. War rages in Europe. The Germans march towards Ukraine. Halya, Liliya and Vika are no strangers to sorrow. They lost family during the Holodomor, loved ones in Stalin's purges, and war looms once more on the horizon. Vika lives in fear for her children. She and her sister survived the terror famine by leaving their whole family behind. Now, years later, many believe the Germans will free them from the Soviets, but shes not so sure. Should they stay in Volhynia or flee the approaching Eastern front? Liliya has lost too much in her 17 years. As those around her join the resistance, Liliya wonders how she can fight for her friends, family, and country. When the choice is made for her, can she find the will to survive and protect those still with her? Twelve-year-old Halya is struggling to discover who she is. But as the war escalates, can her mother Katyas tactics keep her safe from the Nazi soldiers rounding up slave laborers? How can a child survive the horrors of war on her own? These daughters of Ukraine will face devastation and loss as they fight to survive and protect the ones they love. A gripping page-turner of love, loss and resilience for fans of The Nightingale and The Rose Code "A beautiful, hard-hitting tribute to her own family's history and to the people of unbowed, unbroken Ukraine" Amanda McCrina, author of Traitor and The Silent Unseen "Littekens compelling, well-researched and moving storytelling soars as it brings to life a harrowing slice of history while intricately highlighting the past that echoes to the present day" Marina Scott, author of The Hunger Between Us "A multi-layered saga woven with history and heart... An unforgettable gem of historical fiction" Paulette Kennedy, bestselling author of The Witch of Tin Mountain "Erin Litteken gives voice to WWII Ukraine with gritty authenticity...The Lost Daughters of Ukraine is a broom to sweep out Putin's propaganda" Marsha Forchuk Skrypuch, author of Making Bombs for Hitler and Winterkill "A powerful and heart-rending work of fiction that depicts the stunning strength and endurance of a Ukrainian family... In times when it is sorely needed, this remarkable story is written with tenderness and courage." Kimberly Brock, bestselling author of The Lost Book of Eleanor Dare "Vivid, heartfelt and informative" Historical Novel Society Praise for The Memory Keeper of Kyiv: "A compelling and intimate story of love and survival. Harrowing and haunting . . . yet, at the same time, it is sensitive, beautiful and inspiring. Everybody should read this story, especially now. I cannot recommend it highly enough." Christy Lefteri, author of The Beekeeper of Aleppo "A powerfully moving debut... Ukraine's tragic history painfully echoes its current crisis, and on every page the Ukrainian spirit shines out, unbowed, unbent and unbroken." Kate Quinn, author of The Rose Code and The Alice Network
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. The Lost Daughters of Ukraine
  2. +
  3. A Thousand Boy Kisses

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt A Thousand Boy Kisses av Tillie Cole (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 459 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Erin Litteken

Övrig information

Erin Litteken is a debut novelist with a degree in history and a passion for research. At a young age, she was enthralled by stories of her familys harrowing experiences in Ukraine before, during and after World War II. She lives in Illinois, USA with her husband and children.