Four Thousand Weeks (inbunden)
Format
Inbunden (Hardback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
288
Utgivningsdatum
2021-08-26
Förlag
The Bodley Head Ltd
ISBN
9781847924018
Four Thousand Weeks (inbunden)

Four Thousand Weeks

Embrace your limits. Change your life.

Inbunden Engelska, 2021-08-26
175
Tillfälligt slut – klicka "Bevaka" för att få ett mejl så fort boken går att köpa igen.
Finns även som
Visa alla 2 format & utgåvor
Perfect for fans of Atomic Habits **The instant Sunday Times bestseller** **A FINANCIAL TIMES, GUARDIAN AND OBSERVER BOOK OF THE YEAR** **ONE OF THE DAILY TELEGRAPH'S 75 BEST BOOKS OF 2021** 'Life is finite. You don't have to fit everything in... Read this book and wake up to a new way of thinking and living' EMMA GANNON What if you stopped trying to do everything, so that you could finally get round to what counts? We're obsessed with our lengthening to-do lists, our overfilled inboxes, the struggle against distraction, and the sense that our attention spans are shrivelling. Still, we rarely make the connection between our daily struggles with time and the ultimate time management problem: the question of how best to use our ridiculously brief time on the planet, which amounts on average to about four thousand weeks. Four Thousand Weeks is an uplifting, engrossing and deeply realistic exploration of the challenge. Rejecting the futile modern obsession with 'getting everything done,' it introduces readers to tools for constructing a meaningful life by embracing rather than denying their limitations. Drawing on the insights of both ancient and contemporary philosophers, psychologists, and spiritual teachers, Oliver Burkeman sets out to realign our relationship with time - and in doing so, to liberate us from its tyranny. Embrace your limits. Change your life. Make your four thousand weeks count. The perfect read for anyone wanting to make the most of their year and achieve their 'new year, new you' goals. 'A much-needed reality check on our culture's crazy assumptions around work, productivity and living a meaningful life' MARK MANSON, bestselling author of THE SUBTLE ART OF NOT GIVING A F*CK 'Comforting, fascinating, engaging, inspiring and USEFUL, actually genuinely useful' MARIAN KEYES
Visa hela texten

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Oliver Burkeman

Recensioner i media

This book is wonderful. Instead of offering new tips on how to cram more into your day, it questions why we feel the need to ... My favourite kind of book is this one ... it examines the human struggle with intelligence, wisdom, humour and humility. Yes, there are suggestions of ways we might do things a bit differently, but underlying those suggestions is the radical idea that we're already doing just fine -- Marianne Power * The Times * Perfectly pitched somewhere between practical self-help book and philosophical quest ... as with all the best quests, its many pleasures don't require a fast-forward button, but happen along the way -- Tim Adams * Observer * Life is finite. You don't have to fit everything in. Enjoy your life. Breathe out. Read this book and wake up to a new way of thinking and living * Emma Gannon, author of The Multi-Hyphen Method * A wonderfully honest book, Four Thousand Weeks is a much-needed reality check on our culture's crazy assumptions around work, productivity and living a meaningful life -- Mark Manson, bestselling author of Everything is F*cked and The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck His book will challenge and amuse you. And it may even spur you on to change your life. At the very least reading it would be a good use of one of your four thousand weeks -- Robbie Smith * Evening Standard * I loved this book - it's a celebration of all that is most human: a deep dive into the value and potency of our finitude. Where we might buckle under pressure and uncertainty, Oliver quietly restores our centre of gravity within. You'll emerge from his writing fortified by wonder -- Derren Brown A beautiful, uplifting read. Reading Oliver Burkeman, I feel my shoulders relax and my mouth curl into a smile of admiration. Witty, modest and refreshingly sane -- Robert Webb, author of How Not to Be a Boy Comforting, fascinating, engaging, inspiring and USEFUL, actually genuinely useful -- Marian Keyes Oliver Burkeman provides an important and insightful reassessment of productivity. The drive to get more done can become an excuse to avoid figuring out what we actually want to accomplish. Only by confronting this latter question can we unlock a calmer, more meaningful, more resilient approach to organizing our time -- Cal Newport, bestselling author of A World Without Email and Deep Work We all know our time is limited. What we don't know - but what Oliver Burkeman is here to teach us - is that our control over that time is also limited. This profound (and often hilarious) book will prompt you to rethink your worship of efficiency, reject the cult of busyness, and reconfigure your life around what truly matters -- Daniel H. Pink, author of When, Drive, and To Sell is Human This is the most important book ever written about time management. Oliver Burkeman offers a searing indictment of productivity hacking and profound insights on how to make the best use of our scarcest, most precious resource. His writing will challenge you to rethink many of your beliefs about getting things done-and you'll be wiser because of it -- Adam Grant, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Think Again and host of WorkLife I have long loved Oliver Burkeman's wise and witty journalism that both interrogates and elevates the 'self-help' realm-revealing its possibilities for absurdity while honoring the deeper human impulses that it meets. Four Thousand Weeks is a splendid offering in that spirit. This book is at once sobering and refreshing on all that is truly at stake in what we blithely refer to as 'time management.' It invites nothing less than a new relationship with time-and with life itself -- Krista Tippett, host of On Being Four Thousand Weeks is a book to read and re-read, to absorb and reflect on. Compassionate, funny and wise, it has not left my mind since I read it. The modern world teaches us to pretend to be immortal-this book is a dip in the cold, clear waters of reality, returning us refreshed and alive -- Naomi Alderman, a

Övrig information

Oliver Burkeman is the author of The Antidote: Happiness for People Who Can't Stand Positive Thinking, and for many years wrote a popular weekly column on psychology for the Guardian, 'This Column Will Change Your Life'. His work has also appeared in the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Psychologies and New Philosopher. He has a devoted following for his writing on productivity, mortality, the power of limits, and building a meaningful life in an age of bewilderment. oliverburkeman.com