The Girl Who Drank the Moon (häftad)
Fler böcker inom
Format
Häftad (Paperback / softback)
Språk
Engelska
Läsålder
9-12 år
Antal sidor
416
Utgivningsdatum
2017-08-24
Förlag
Piccadilly Press
Dimensioner
204 x 138 x 23 mm
Vikt
286 g
Komponenter
,
ISBN
9781848126473
The Girl Who Drank the Moon (häftad)

The Girl Who Drank the Moon

(1 röst)
Häftad Engelska, 2017-08-24
99
  • Skickas inom 5-8 vardagar.
  • Gratis frakt inom Sverige över 159 kr för privatpersoner.
Finns även som
Visa alla 3 format & utgåvor
THE NO 1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER AND NEWBERY MEDAL WINNER 'This beautifully written, darkly funny coming-of-age story will enchant and entertain' Daily Mail Every year, the people of the Protectorate leave a baby as an offering to the witch who lives in the forest. They hope this sacrifice will keep her from terrorizing their town. But the witch in the Forest, Xan, is in fact a good witch who shares her home with a wise Swamp Monster and a Perfectly Tiny Dragon. Xan rescues the children and delivers them to welcoming families on the other side of the forest, nourishing the babies with starlight on the journey. One year, Xan accidentally feeds a baby moonlight instead of starlight, filling the ordinary child with extraordinary magic. Xan decides she must raise this girl, whom she calls Luna, as her own. As Luna's thirteenth birthday approaches, her magic begins to emerge - with dangerous consequences. Meanwhile, a young man from the Protectorate is determined to free his people by killing the witch. Deadly birds with uncertain intentions flock nearby. A volcano, quiet for centuries, rumbles just beneath the earth's surface. And the woman with the Tiger's heart is on the prowl . . . The Newbery Medal winner from the author of the highly acclaimed novel The Witch's Boy.
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. The Girl Who Drank the Moon
  2. +
  3. The Witch's Boy

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt The Witch's Boy av Kelly Barnhill (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 198 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Kelly Barnhill

Recensioner i media

A fairytale with a difference, this is about finding your power and what is means to belong, captured in a richly textured prose in a beautifully realised fantasy world. * The Bookseller * Impossible to put down . . . The Girl Who Drank the Moon is as exciting and layered as classics like Peter Pan or The Wizard of Oz * The New York Times * A gorgeously written fantasy about a girl who becomes "enmagicked" after the witch who saves her from death feeds her moonlight. * People * [Barnhill's] next middle grade sensation...With compelling, beautiful prose, Kelly Barnhill spins the enchanting tale of a kindly witch who accidentally gives a normal baby magic powers, then decides to raise her as her own. * EW.com * Guaranteed to enchant, enthrall, and enmagick . . . Replete with traditional motifs, this nontraditional fairy tale boasts sinister and endearing characters, magical elements, strong storytelling, and unleashed forces. * Kirkus * Rich with multiple plotlines that culminate in a suspenseful climax, characters of inspiring integrity, a world with elements of both whimsy and treachery, and prose that melds into poetry. A sure bet for anyone who enjoys a truly fantastic story. * Booklist * An expertly woven and enchanting offering. * School Library Journal * Barnhill crafts another captivating fantasy, this time in the vein of Into the Woods . . . Barnhill delivers an escalating plot filled with foreshadowing, well-developed characters, and a fully realized setting, all highlighting her lyrical storytelling. * Publishers Weekly * Barnhill writes with gentle elegance, conveying a deeply emotional and heartrending tale with accessible, fluid prose. Characters are skillfully developed: the heroes are flawed, the villains are humanized, and they are forgiven for sins they may or may have not intended. The swamp monster and dragon provide plenty of moments of humor to leaven the pathos, while the setting is infused with fairy tale elements, both magical and menacing, and given a tragic history. Fans of Barnhill's The Witch's Boy and Iron Hearted Violet will find similar intersections of love, loss, and identity here. * Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books * The Girl Who Drank the Moon takes a probing look at social complexity and the high cost of secrets and lies, weaving multiple perspectives, past and present, into one cleverly unfolding fairy tale. Barnhill crafts wonderfully imperfect characters with poetic prose, warmth and wit. The resiliency of the heroes may be partly because of magic, but also because of critical thinking, empathy, deep love and the strength of family in all its unconventional manifestations. Thoughtful and utterly spellbinding. * Shelf Awareness for Readers * Heart-stopping and heart-rending . . . Good and evil square off in this highly original fantasy that satisfies in time-honored ways . . . Poetic turns of phrase, intriguing subplots and fast pacing yield a rich mix of suspense, surprise and social commentary, splendidly exploring 'memory, hope, love, and the weight of human emotion.'...Magic, witches, moonlight, starlight, a baby dragon and baby sacrifice swirl together in this spell-binding high fantasy. * San Francisco Chronicle * If your kids have already read Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, and they can't get enough of Neil Gaiman, they're going to love Kelly Barnhill's new fantasy, The Girl Who Drank the Moon. * St Paul Pioneer Press * The Girl Who Drank the Moon is a story of love, curiosity and the magic of the everyday world . . . this is a novel about the journey, not the destination -- one filled with wisdom and heart. * Minneapolis Star Tribune * Magic, witch-lore, an evil Council of Elders, a Perfectly Tiny Dragon, twists and turns and an utterly fantastical world--this book keeps you hooked! -- Kim Childress * Girls' Life * An involving--and often wondrously strange--adventure. Though aimed at middle grade readers, this has plenty of marvels and tongue-in-cheek momen

Övrig information

Kelly Barnhill lives in Minnesota with her husband and three children. She is the author of four novels, most recently The Girl Who Drank the Moon, winner of the Newbery Medal. The Witch's Boy received four starred reviews and was a finalist for the Minnesota Book Awards.