Nuclear War (inbunden) NY
Format
Inbunden (Hardback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
400
Utgivningsdatum
2024-03-28
Förlag
Torva
Dimensioner
40 x 240 x 156 mm
Vikt
750 g
ISBN
9781911709596

Nuclear War

A Scenario

(1 röst)
Inbunden,  Engelska, 2024-03-28
224
  • Skickas från oss på måndag
  • Fri frakt över 249 kr för privatkunder i Sverige.
Finns även som
Visa alla 3 format & utgåvor
The Sunday Times bestselling edge-of-your-seat non-fiction thriller, perfect for readers of American Prometheus: The Triumph and Tragedy of J. Robert Oppenheimer by Kai Bird and Midnight in Chernobyl by Adam Higginbotham. 'Essential' New York Times 'A stomach-clenching, multi-perspective, ticking-clock, geopolitical thriller' Forbes 'Tells a terrifying story in a devastatingly straightforward way' Guardian Nuclear war begins with a blip on a radar screen. This is a minute-by-minute account of what comes next. It has to be read to be believed. There is only one scenario other than an asteroid strike that could end the world as we know it in a matter of hours: nuclear war. Until now, no one outside official circles has known exactly what would happen if a rogue state launched a nuclear missile at the Pentagon. Second by second and minute by minute, these are the real-life protocols that choreograph the end of civilization as we know it. Decisions that affect hundreds of millions of lives need to be made within six minutes, based on partial information, in the knowledge that once launched, nothing is capable of halting the destruction. Based on dozens of new interviews with military and civilian experts who have built the weapons, been privy to the response plans, and taken responsibility for crucial decisions, this is the only account of what a nuclear exchange would look like. Nuclear War is at once a compulsive non-fiction thriller and a powerful argument that we must rid ourselves of these world-ending weapons for ever. 'This terrifying book is a must-read for every world leader' Mother Jones 'These are scenes straight out of Dr Strangelove' Telegraph 'At once methodical and vivid' The Economist
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. Nuclear War
  2. +
  3. Knife

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt Knife av Salman Rushdie (inbunden).

Köp båda 2 för 453 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Annie Jacobsen

Recensioner i media

A stomach-clenching, multi-perspective, ticking-clock, geopolitical thriller rooted in the seeds of our own destruction, planted nearly 80 years ago at the Trinity test site by the scientists of the Manhattan Project who brazenly dared to rip the building blocks of our universe apart... I couldnt put the thing down, feverishly turning page after page until I finished it on the plane ride home... Nuclear War: A Scenario should be required reading for everyone alive today. * Forbes * Books like Annie Jacobsens gripping Nuclear War: A Scenario are essential if you want to understand the complex and disturbing details that go into a civilization-destroying decision to drop the Bomb on an enemy. -- Barry Gewen * The New York Times * This terrifying book is a must-read for every world leader. * Mother Jones * Extraordinary... Her book delivers more detail than has been available to the public before... Terrifying. * New Scientist * Based on hundreds of interviews with many retired security officials and more-or-less declassified information in the public domain, what it captures brilliantly is the emotional chaos into which leaders would be plunged in such a situation.... These are scenes straight out of Dr Strangelove. * Telegraph * Jacobsen seeks to break through jargon and details in order to tell a terrifying story in a devastatingly straightforward way. * Guardian * At once methodical and vivid. In documenting the minutiae of the apocalypse, the writing is redolent of 'Hiroshima', a seminal article by John Hersey published in the New Yorker in 1946. * The Economist * In Nuclear War: A Scenario, Annie Jacobsen, gives us a vivid picture of what could happen if our nuclear guardians failTerrifying. * Wall Street Journal * What readers are saying about Nuclear War: 'At times I felt as if I was reading fiction and had to keep reminding myself that it's fact' 'It reads like a thriller... a brilliant read and impressive feat of research and storytelling' 'This book is a must-read for anyone who thinks nuclear weapons are the problem of a bygone era' 'Exceptionally well researched, the authors sources are impeccable, ably supported by technical information... a hugely powerful, sobering and compelling read' 'Clearly very well researched and well sourced. 10/10' 'A hugely informative piece of work that gives an enlightening insight into the world we live in today' -- NetGalley reader reviews

Övrig information

Annie Jacobsen is a 2016 Pulitzer Prize finalist and the New York Times bestselling author of Area 51, Operation Paperclip, Surprise, Kill, Vanish and others. Her books have been translated into nine languages. She also writes and produces TV, including Tom Clancy's Jack Ryan. A graduate of Princeton University, she lives in Los Angeles with her husband and their two sons.