Love, Hate &; Other Filters (häftad)
Fler böcker inom
Format
Häftad (Paperback / softback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
272
Utgivningsdatum
2018-01-16
Förlag
Hot Key Books
Dimensioner
198 x 128 x 16 mm
Vikt
200 g
Komponenter
,
ISBN
9781471407147
Love, Hate &; Other Filters (häftad)

Love, Hate &; Other Filters

Häftad Engelska, 2018-01-16
107
  • Skickas inom 5-8 vardagar.
  • Gratis frakt inom Sverige över 199 kr för privatpersoner.
Finns även som
Visa alla 1 format & utgåvor
A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER. Nominated for the CILIP CARNEGIE MEDAL 2019 A romantic and relevant debut about Islamophobia and how it affects the normal life of a teenage girl. Maya Aziz dreams of being a film maker in New York. Her family have other ideas. They want her to be a dutiful daughter who wears gold jewellery and high heels and trains to be a doctor. But jewellery and heels are so uncomfortable . . . She's also caught between the guy she SHOULD like and the guy she DOES like. But she doesn't want to let Kareem down and things with Phil would never work out anyway. Would they? Then a suicide bomber who shares her last name strikes in a city hundreds of miles away and everything changes . . . Perfect for fans of Annabel Pitcher, WHEN DIMPLE MET RISHI and THE HATE U GIVE.
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. Love, Hate &; Other Filters
  2. +
  3. A Good Girl's Guide to Murder

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt A Good Girl's Guide to Murder av Holly Jackson (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 208 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Samira Ahmed

Recensioner i media

This smart, heartbreaking, honest debut novel is as timely as it is hopeful. Ahmed tackles weighty issues with thoughtfulness and flair. I was completely swept away. * Sandhya Menon, author of When Dimple Met Rishi * Warm, romantic and relevant, Ahmed explores both timeless teenage concerns and the reality of being an Indian-American Muslim teenage girl in this engaging US YA debut * Fiona Noble, The Bookseller * As heart-breaking as it is uplifting, Love, Hate and Other Filters examines both what it is like to be on the receiving end of extreme Islamophobia, and how the support of open-minded loved ones can help relieve the pain. This is a coming-of-age novel with a twist, as Maya must deal with the specific problem of the abuse she faces, as well as the more general problem of convincing her parents to allow her to pursue the career of her choosing. A must read for teens who are interested in learning about how politics and current affairs can have an impact on certain minorities' everyday lives * The Bookbag * Maya deals with bullying and Islamophobia, I can't talk for marginalised people, as a white woman, but as someone who's an avid social media user I've come across people harassing POC on the internet and it's great to see these topics talked about in the story. This book was adorable, a great depiction of young love, with a hard-hitting plot twist. This book is perfect for fans of When Dimple Met Rishi * Novels and Tea * It was engaging, powerful and realistic all at the same time and with a dash of flawless writing and amazing characters, you will not regret this read * A Whisper Of Ink * A striking first novel by Samira Ahmed * Armadillo Magazine * A cinematic YA tale * Financial Times * This book is a brilliant insight into one experience of growing up Muslim in modern-day America, which translates very easily for readers in the UK. Themes of identity, racism and politics are very much one part of the story; more than anything, this book is about falling in love and finding your own path, whatever your background. Maya is a funny, intelligent protagonist that teenagers will really enjoy getting to know * Booktrust * In this thoughtful debut, Ahmed examines the experience of Muslim teenagers with an equally sweet and sharp perspective. * Buzzfeed * The book has a compelling empathetic voice which will touch your heart as it copes with themes of diversity; prejudice and multiculturalism * South Wales Evening Post * Insightful and witty, this fiction debut explores the truth of being an Islamic teenager in the US * Emerald Street * This book is perfect for fans of When Dimple Met Rishi who want a grittier look at the realities of being a Muslim teenager in America. Samira Ahmed skilfully blends a cute romance with a harrowing exploration of Islamophobia and bigotry. The ability to blend a warm, romantic storyline with some weighty issues shouldn't be under-appreciated. It is through this approach that more readers will be eager to read about a wider, more challenging, range of topics and it should be celebrated * Books With Jane * Love, Hate & Other Filters is such an incredible book - and not only incredible, but so very important. It's powerful, and it's needed. I absolutely loved it, and I look forward to reading what Ahmed writes in the future - whether sweet, cute stories, or hard-hitting, powerful stories, or more of both * Once Upon A Bookcase * This is such an important and timely book - we need more 'own voices' in publishing and we need to encourage everyone to read more widely to appreciate the world from other points of view * Chrikaru Blog * Ahmed authentically and expertly tells a story relevant to today's climate. More than that, it's a meaningful #OwnVoices book about identity and inner strength that everyone should absolutely read * Buzzfeed * It's refreshing to see a romance book about a Muslim teen that doesn't centre on Islamophobia or even being Muslim * Headscarves and Hardbacks * It was inc

Övrig information

Samira Ahmed was born in Bombay, India, and grew up in a small town in Illinois in a house that smelled like fried onions, cardamom, and potpourri. A graduate of the University of Chicago, she taught high school English, helped create dozens of small high schools, and fought to secure billions of additional dollars to fairly fund public schools. She's lived in Vermont, Chicago, New York City, and Kauai, where she spent a year searching for the perfect mango.