A Marvellous Light (häftad)
Fler böcker inom
Format
Häftad (Paperback / softback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
400
Utgivningsdatum
2022-10-27
Förlag
Tor
Dimensioner
24 x 184 x 129 mm
Vikt
295 g
ISBN
9781529080902

A Marvellous Light

a dazzling, queer romantic fantasy

(4 röster)  |  Läs 2 recensioner
Häftad,  Engelska, 2022-10-27
155
  • Skickas från oss inom 7-10 vardagar.
  • Fri frakt över 249 kr för privatkunder i Sverige.
Finns även som
Visa alla 1 format & utgåvor
Set in an alternative Edwardian England, this is a comedy of manners, manor houses, and hedge mazes including a magic-infused murder mystery and a delightful queer romance. Lush historical fantasy . . . A delightful book, with richly developed characters New York Times Mystery! Magic! Murder! . . . This book is a confection, both marvellous and light Alix E. Harrow, author of The Ten Thousand Doors of January For fans of Georgette Heyer or Julia Quinn's Bridgerton, who'd like to welcome magic into their lives . . . Young baronet Robin Blyth thought he was taking up a minor governmental post. However, he's actually been appointed parliamentary liaison to a secret magical society. If it werent for this administrative error, hed never have discovered the incredible magic underlying his world. Cursed by mysterious attackers and plagued by visions, Robin becomes determined to drag answers from his missing predecessor but hell need the help of Edwin Courcey, his hostile magical-society counterpart. Unwillingly thrown together, Robin and Edwin will discover a plot that threatens every magician in the British Isles. The Binding meets Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell in debut author Freya Marskes A Marvellous Light. Continue the thrilling series with A Restless Truth. A dazzling debut Shelley Parker-Chan, author of She Who Became the Sun Prepare to fall in love with the gorgeous Edwardian setting, the sizzling character dynamics, and the murderous enchanted hedge maze Emily Tesh, author of Silver in the Wood An absolute delight . . . If you ever wished Downton Abbey was sharper-edged and full of magic, this is the book for you Kat Howard, author of An Unkindness of Magicians
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. A Marvellous Light
  2. +
  3. Dune

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt Dune av Frank Herbert (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 295 kr

Kundrecensioner

Det finns 2 recensioner av A Marvellous Light. Har du också läst boken? Om du har köpt den på Bokus.com vill vi gärna höra vad du tyckte om den! Sätt ditt betyg »
  1. Ny favorit
    Vendis, 28 juni 2023

    Boken är verkligen riktigt bra och riktigt bra skriven! Engelskan är dock nog inte så lättläst för någon som nyss börjat, det finns många svåra ord. Jag har läst om boken 2 gånger för att den är så himla bra! Den är beskrivande på ett sätt som verkligen ger en inlevelse och dialogerna är välutänkta! Boken är fylld av beskrivningar och känslor som på ett sätt känns unikt till Freya Marskes verk. Boken är lite spicy men också väldigt underhållande. 5/5

  2. Fantastisk!
    -, 1 juni 2023

    Älskade den här boken. Så fin slow burn romance med dynamiska karaktärer som jag fortfarande tänker på. 4/5 i Spicy, och helt fantastisk magisk värld placerad i 1900-talets London. Jag kunde inte sluta läsa!

Visa alla 2 recensioner

Fler böcker av Freya Marske

Recensioner i media

Mystery! Magic! Murder! Long looks full of yearning! This book is a confection, both marvellous and light -- Alix E. Harrow That sublime prose! Her astonishing gift for imagery! And, of course, her bountiful and endless talent for writing some extremely sexy scenes. A Marvellous Light is all that and more. Perfect -- Jenn Lyons A magical world of exquisite refinement, where peril skims beneath manners, interiors bespeak both faultless taste and deadly secrets, and the sexual tension crescendos until it literally makes sparks fly. A dazzling debut -- Shelley Parker-Chan Romantic in the best way, funny, sharp, sexy, fantastical. Prepare to fall in love with the gorgeous Edwardian setting, the sizzling character dynamics, and the murderous enchanted hedge maze -- Emily Tesh Freya Marske's A Marvellous Light is an absolute delight. I was caught from the very beginning by the compellingly realized characters, the gorgeous and deadly magical world, and the fascinating mystery. If you ever wished Downton Abbey was sharper-edged and full of magic, this is the book for you -- Kat Howard Freya's prose is so splendid that merely reading it makes me feel like I've been filled to the brim with champagne bubbles. A Marvellous Light has everything you could ever want from a book beautiful descriptions, expertly woven world-building, queer kissing, sexual tension in a library, quite a lot of William Morris wallpaper . . . This book is brilliant on every level. It is wondrous. It is, if you will excuse a small joke, marvellous -- Alexandra Rowland A charming, lovingly crafted adventure full of peril, romance and wit, illuminated by sparkling turns of phrase and a pervasive sense of humour -- A. K. Larkwood Equal parts fantasy, mystery and romance with bonus murderous garden features A Marvellous Light heralds a strong new voice in science fiction and fantasy -- Sam Hawke This romantic fantasy is full of fascinating world-building, layers upon layers of delicious magic, and characters I adored. I want to spend so much more time in this alternate England's enchanted libraries and sinister hedge mazes! The whole experience was a delight -- Stephanie Burgis A gripping story, told in precise and sensual language, with the kind of characters that make you want a spin-off book for even the ones you've barely met. Magic, romance and mayhem in a beautifully decorated and occasionally actively dangerous Edwardian setting -- Malka Older A completely enchanting story that sweeps you into a world of art and romance. Marske is an extraordinary talent who writes compelling characters, entertainingly awful families, and love stories like nobody else -- Everina Maxwell A breathtaking queer romantic fantasy . . . Sensual erotic scenes, an intriguing magic system, and a puzzling mystery combine to make this novel a wonder -- <i>Publishers Weekly</i>, starred review An enchanting, gripping and dazzling debut -- <i>Daily Mail</i> Compelling, sumptuously written, clever and brimming with intrigue and sexual tension (and its release) . . . The definition of reading for pure pleasure; we are ready for the next instalment, immediately -- <i>Attitude Magazine</i> Lush historical fantasy . . . a delightful book, with richly developed characters -- <i>New York Times</i>

Övrig information

Freya Marske lives in Australia, where she is yet to be killed by any form of wildlife. She writes stories full of magic, blood, and as much kissing as she can get away with, and she co-hosts the Hugo Award-nominated podcast Be the Serpent. Her hobbies include figure skating and discovering new art galleries, and she is on a quest to try all the gin in the world. A Marvellous Light is her debut novel.