Be Prepared (häftad)
Fler böcker inom
Format
Häftad (Paperback / softback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
256
Utgivningsdatum
2018-04-24
Förlag
First Second
Medarbetare
Brosgol, Vera (ill.)
Illustratör/Fotograf
Vera Brosgol
Illustrationer
Colour illustrations throughout
Dimensioner
213 x 152 x 23 mm
Vikt
518 g
Antal komponenter
1
ISBN
9781626724457

Be Prepared

Häftad,  Engelska, 2018-04-24
152
Billigast på PriceRunner
  • Skickas från oss inom 2-5 vardagar.
  • Fri frakt över 249 kr för privatkunder i Sverige.
Finns även som
Visa alla 1 format & utgåvor
All Vera wants to do is fit in - but that's not easy for a Russian girl in the suburbs. Her friends live in fancy houses and their parents can afford to send them to the best summer camps. Vera's single mother can't afford that sort of luxury, but there's one summer camp in her price range - Russian summer camp. Vera is sure she's found the one place she can fit in, but camp is far from what she imagined. And nothing could prepare her for all the 'cool girl' drama, endless Russian history lessons, and outhouses straight out of nightmares! Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier, Cece Bell, and Victoria Jamieson, Vera Brosgol's Be Prepared is a funny and relatable middle-grade graphic novel about navigating your own culture, struggling to belong, and the value of true friendship.
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. Be Prepared
  2. +
  3. Powerless

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt Powerless av Lauren Roberts (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 273 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Vera Brosgol

Recensioner i media

A New York Times Book Reiview Notable Children's Book of 2018 A Boston Globe Best Children's Book of 2018 Selected as the Best Graphic Novel of 2018 by Parents Magazine Beautifully drawn, brutally funny, brilliantly honest. Vera is such a good cartoonist I almost can't stand it." --Raina Telgemeier, author of Smile Perfect for fans of Shannon Hale's Real Friends (2017), this will easily lodge a place in readers' hearts, even as it has them rolling in the aisles.--Booklist, starred The story, both culturally specific and universal, is a welcome addition to the growing canon of comics tales by talented women cartoonists (Raina Telgemeier, Tillie Walden, Zeina Abirached, Cece Bell, and many others) based on their own lives.--Horn Book, starred The dialogue rings true, the pace is seamless, and the panel artwork, in woodsy browns and greens, conveys feelings with clean, assured lines. By turns sardonic, adorable, and noble, Vera is a beguiling hero who learns how to recognize who's really on her side.--Publishers Weekly, starred A gorgeous, emotional memoir worthy of any graphic novel collection.--School Library Journal, starred While the culturally specific references will particularly resonate with kids of Russian heritage, the larger story will strike chords with any kid who has ever struggled to find a place to belong.--Kirkus There's no real villainy here, just the quotidian slings and arrows carelessly shot by kids more concerned with fun than empathy. That makes Vera a character with appeal to every tween who's ever felt disappointed by peers--or by a fulfilled wish that didn't live up to its bright, shiny promise.--The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

Övrig information

Vera Brosgol was born in Moscow, Russia, in 1984 and moved to the United States when she was five. Her first graphic novel Anya's Ghost was published in 2011 by First Second and won Eisner, Cybils, and Harvey awards. Her picture book Leave Me Alone! was a 2017 Caldecott Honor book. She was a storyboard artist at Laika for ten years, working on animated films including Coraline and Kubo and the Two Strings. She lives in Portland, Oregon, and actually really likes camping now.