Station Eleven (häftad)
Fler böcker inom
Format
Häftad (Paperback / softback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
384
Utgivningsdatum
2015-01-01
Upplaga
Main Market Ed.
Utmärkelser
Winner of The Arthur C. Clarke Award 2015 (UK); Short-listed for British Fantasy Award Best Horror Novel 2015 (UK); Long-listed for Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction 2015 (UK)
Förlag
Picador
Dimensioner
133 x 197 x 23 mm
Vikt
250 g
Komponenter
,
ISBN
9781447268970
Station Eleven (häftad)

Station Eleven

(6 röster)  |  Läs 3 recensioner
Häftad Engelska, 2015-01-01
142
  • Skickas inom 7-10 vardagar.
  • Gratis frakt inom Sverige över 199 kr för privatpersoner.
Finns även som
Visa alla 6 format & utgåvor
'Best novel. The big one . . . stands above all the others' - George R.R. Martin, author of Game of Thrones Now an HBO Max original TV series The New York Times Bestseller Winner of the Arthur C. Clarke Award Longlisted for the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction National Book Awards Finalist PEN/Faulkner Award Finalist What was lost in the collapse: almost everything, almost everyone, but there is still such beauty. One snowy night in Toronto famous actor Arthur Leander dies on stage whilst performing the role of a lifetime. That same evening a deadly virus touches down in North America. The world will never be the same again. Twenty years later Kirsten, an actress in the Travelling Symphony, performs Shakespeare in the settlements that have grown up since the collapse. But then her newly hopeful world is threatened. If civilization was lost, what would you preserve? And how far would you go to protect it?
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. Station Eleven
  2. +
  3. It Ends With Us

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt It Ends With Us av Colleen Hoover (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 231 kr

Kundrecensioner

Det finns 3 recensioner av Station Eleven. Har du också läst boken? Om du har köpt den på Bokus.com vill vi gärna höra vad du tyckte om den! Sätt ditt betyg »
  1. En nyskapande dystopi
    Annika, 30 juli 2018

    Jag älskade verkligen Station Eleven, och detta kommer från någon som läst väldigt många (och många bra) efter katastrofen-romaner. Väldigt snyggt binder författaren ihop livsöden och händelser mellan nu- och framtid. Fina människoporträtt och en mycket vacker berättelse.

  2. Skrämmande om blir sant
    Airscott, 16 mars 2015

    Intressant men ändå inte så bra som jag trodde. Lite hoppigt fram och tillbaka i tiden så man tappad ibland. Är det detta som väntar oss tex efter en pandemi? Man undrar dock varför tekniken måste gå tillbaka till "stenåldern". Skulle det vara så i verkligheten?

  3. En riktigt bra bok. Läs den!
    Christina, 5 februari 2015

    Boken är oerhört vacker, tänkvärd, spännande, helt hjärtskärande positiv mitt i dystopin. Den är något helt annorlunda än romaner som jag läst inom samma genré. Väntar på filmen - den måste komma!

Visa alla 3 recensioner

Fler böcker av Emily St John Mandel

Recensioner i media

Mandel's beautiful depiction of the survival of human culture and art in a post-apocalyptic world, Perfect for fans of The Handmaid's Tale. * Cosmopolitan * The Handmaid's Tale isn't the only one out there to examine life in a dystopia or collapsing society, or examine the challenges women face when confronting an authoritative power. * The Verge * A dystopian novel that every woman should read after The Handmaid's Tale. * Refinery29.com * Glorious, unexpected, superbly written; just try putting it down. * The Times * One of the 2014 books that I did read stands above all the others, however: Station Eleven, by Emily St. John Mandel . . . It's a deeply melancholy novel, but beautifully written, and wonderfully elegiac, a book that I will long remember, and return to. -- George R. R. Martin Disturbing, inventive and exciting, Station Eleven left me wistful for a world where I still live. -- Jessie Burton, author of <i>The Miniaturist</i> Once in a very long while a book becomes a brand new old friend, a story you never knew you always wanted. Station Eleven is that rare find that feels familiar and extraordinary at the same time, expertly weaving together future and present and past, death and life and Shakespeare. This is truly something special. -- Erin Morgenstern, author of <i>The Night Circus</i> Visually stunning, dreamily atmospheric and impressively gripping . . . Station Eleven is not so much about apocalypse as about memory and loss, nostalgia and yearning; the effort of art to deepen our fleeting impressions of the world and bolster our solitude. * Guardian * Station Eleven is so compelling, so fearlessly imagined, that I wouldn't have put it down for anything. I think this one is really going to go places. -- Ann Patchett, author of <i>Bel Canto</i> and <i>State of Wonder</i> A beautiful and unsettling book, the action moves between the old and new world, drawing connections between the characters and their pasts and showing the sweetness of life as we know it now and the value of friendship, love and art over all the vehicles, screens and remote controls that have been rendered obsolete. Mandel's skill in portraying her post-apocalyptic world makes her fictional creation seem a terrifyingly real possibility. Apocalyptic stories once offered the reader a scary view of an alternative reality and the opportunity, on putting the book down, to look around gratefully at the real world. This is a book to make its reader mourn the life we still lead and the privileges we still enjoy. * Sunday Express * Station Eleven is a firework of a novel. Elegantly constructed and packed with explosive beauty, it's full of life and humanity and the aftershock of memory. -- Lauren Beukes, author of <i>The Shining Girls</i> There is no shortage of post-apocalyptic thrillers on the shelves these days, but Station Eleven is unusually haunting . . . There is an understated, piercing nostalgia . . . there is humour, amid the collapse . . . and there is Mandel's marvellous creation, the Travelling Symphony, travelling from one scattered gathering of humanity to another . . . There is also a satisfyingly circular mystery, as Mandel unveils neatly, satisfyingly, the links between her disparate characters . . . This book will stay with its readers much longer than more run-of-the-mill thrillers. -- Alison Flood, Thriller of the Month * Observer * Station Eleven is a magnificent, compulsive novel that cleverly turns the notion of a "kinder, gentler time" on its head. And, oh, the pleasure of falling down the rabbit hole of Mandel's imagination - a dark, shimmering place rich in alarmingly real detail and peopled with such human, such very appealing characters. -- Liza Klaussmann, author of <i>Tigers in Red Weather</i> A genuinely unsettling dystopian novel that also allows for moments of great tenderness. Emily St. John Mandel conjures indelible visuals, and her wr

Övrig information

Emily St. John Mandel was born in Canada and studied dance at The School of Toronto Dance Theatre. She is the author of the novels Last Night in Montreal, The Singer's Gun, The Lola Quartet and Station Eleven and is a staff writer for The Millions. She lives in New York City.