Station Eleven (häftad)
Fler böcker inom
Format
Häftad (Paperback / softback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
384
Utgivningsdatum
2015-01-01
Upplaga
Main Market Ed.
Utmärkelser
Winner of The Arthur C. Clarke Award 2015 (UK); Short-listed for British Fantasy Award Best Horror Novel 2015 (UK); Long-listed for Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction 2015 (UK)
Förlag
Picador
Dimensioner
197 x 129 x 23 mm
Vikt
248 g
Komponenter
,
ISBN
9781447268970
Station Eleven (häftad)

Station Eleven

(5 röster)  |  Läs 3 recensioner
Häftad Engelska, 2015-01-01
119
Skickas inom 5-8 vardagar.
Fri frakt inom Sverige över 149 kr för privatpersoner.
Finns även som
Visa alla 3 format & utgåvor
'Best novel. The big one . . . stands above all the others . . . beautifully written, and wonderfully elegiac, a book that I will long remember, and return to.' - George R.R. Martin, author of Game of Thrones. The New York Times Bestseller Winner of the Arthur C. Clarke Award Longlisted for the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction National Book Awards Finalist PEN/Faulkner Award Finalist Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel is a bold vision of a dystopian future, frighteningly real, perfect for fans of Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale. What was lost in the collapse: almost everything, almost everyone, but there is still such beauty. One snowy night in Toronto famous actor Arthur Leander dies on stage whilst performing the role of a lifetime. That same evening a deadly virus touches down in North America. The world will never be the same again. Twenty years later Kirsten, an actress in the Travelling Symphony, performs Shakespeare in the settlements that have grown up since the collapse. But then her newly hopeful world is threatened. If civilization was lost, what would you preserve? And how far would you go to protect it?
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. Station Eleven
  2. +
  3. Last Night in Montreal

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt Last Night in Montreal av Emily St John Mandel (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 238 kr

Kundrecensioner

Det finns 3 recensioner av Station Eleven. Har du också läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »
  1. En nyskapande dystopi
    Annika, 30 juli 2018

    Jag älskade verkligen Station Eleven, och detta kommer från någon som läst väldigt många (och många bra) efter katastrofen-romaner. Väldigt snyggt binder författaren ihop livsöden och händelser mellan nu- och framtid. Fina människoporträtt och en mycket vacker berättelse.

  2. Skrämmande om blir sant
    Airscott, 16 mars 2015

    Intressant men ändå inte så bra som jag trodde. Lite hoppigt fram och tillbaka i tiden så man tappad ibland. Är det detta som väntar oss tex efter en pandemi? Man undrar dock varför tekniken måste gå tillbaka till "stenåldern". Skulle det vara så i verkligheten?

  3. En riktigt bra bok. Läs den!
    Christina, 5 februari 2015

    Boken är oerhört vacker, tänkvärd, spännande, helt hjärtskärande positiv mitt i dystopin. Den är något helt annorlunda än romaner som jag läst inom samma genré. Väntar på filmen - den måste komma!

Visa alla 3 recensioner

Recensioner i media

The inventiveness and exploration of ideas about survival and art give Mandel's novel its indelibility . . . Station Eleven amazed me with its sharp and emotionally true reimagining of nearly everything we take for granted in the world -- Meg Wolitzer Strong storytelling and believable characters combine in this very human tale * Bella * A deeply unsettling and well-crafted tale exploring human relationships in extreme circumstances -- Philippa Williams * The Lady * Plays with time and place in a manner that brings to mind Kate Atkinson's superb Life After Life. * Stylist * Excellently written, Station Eleven is closer to Joyce than Orwell as it stealthily connects plots and people * Sunday Times * Mandel's strong storytelling ability sets Station Eleven apart . . . Mandel fluidly switches between characters and time periods . . . the result is a provocative tale of societal apocalypse that convincingly creates a disorientated reality, where humanity moves into an uncertain future on a planet littered with reminders of an imperfect past * The List * A beautifully written and compelling debut from Emily St John Mandel * Good Housekeeping Magazine * Totally spellbinding . . . Deftly switching between the time before and after the pandemic, the story reveals the fates of six compelling characters, whose lives are interlinked. Full of eerie suspense and surprises, this is a haunting, original novel that makes you consider what's truly valuable in life. * Hello Magazine * A theater troupe in a post-epidemic dystopia. Art and celebrity at the zenith of North American civilization and its nadir. Childhood and marriage and violence and comic books. Station Eleven is about all of these things, but none of them fully capture the magic of the book, which is one of the best I've read in a while . . . It reminded me quite a bit of Kate Atkinson's fantastic Life After Life. And the plot, characters, writing-it's all fantastic, as well. honestly, I don't know what else to say except . . . Buy, buy, buy. Seriously. Go pre-order it now. * BookRiot * Drew me in irresistibly -- Anne Tyler * New York Times * Station Eleven is a mesmerising and beautiful book that puts a unique spin on a familiar end-of-the-world scenario . . . Like The Road, Mandel's novel makes you desperately glad for the world we live in. -- Mark Edwards, author of <i>The Magpies</i> An ambitious take on a post-apocalyptic world where some strive to preserve art, culture and kindness . . . Think of Cormac McCarthy seesawing with Joan Didion . . . Mandel spins a satisfying web of coincidence and kismet . . . Magnetic . . . A breakout novel. * Kirkus (starred review) * This breathtaking highwire act argues theatre is primal - and instinct to tell and act out stories, to come together to experience art. Who wouldn't want to write novels about that? * Big Issue * Ambitious, magnificent . . . Mandel's vision is not only achingly beautiful but startlingly plausible, exposing the fragile beauty of the world we inhabit. In the burgeoning postapocalyptic literary genre, Mandel's transcendent, haunting novel deserves a place alongside The Road * Booklist * A novel that miraculously reads like equal parts page-turner and poem. One of her great feats is that the story feels spun rather than plotted, with seamless shifts in time and characters . . . This is not a story of crisis and survival. It's one of art and family and memory and community and the awful courage it takes to look upon the world with fresh and hopeful eyes. * Entertainment Weekly * Riveting, brilliant -- Nina Stibbe, author of <i>Love, Nina</i> Speculative fiction . . . of a decidedly literary bent * Metro * Emily St John Mandel is currently gathering lots of world-ending buzz with her new novel Station Eleven . . . conjures up an eerie post-killer-flu future * Grazia * Station Eleven is the kind of book that speaks to dozens of the readers in me - the Hollywood devotee, the comic book fan, the cul

Bloggat om Station Eleven

Övrig information

Emily St. John Mandel was born in Canada and studied dance at The School of Toronto Dance Theatre. She is the author of the novels Last Night in Montreal, The Singer's Gun, The Lola Quartet and Station Eleven and is a staff writer for The Millions. She is married and lives in New York.