Ajax. Electra. Oedipus Tyrannus (inbunden)
Inbunden (Hardback)
Antal sidor
3 v. ;.
Hugh Lloyd-Jones
Greek, Modern (1453-)
Lloyd-Jones, Hugh (ed. & transl.)
v. 1 "Ajax", "Electra", "Oedipus Tyrannus"
170 x 115 x 25 mm
320 g
Antal komponenter
3 v. ;
Ajax. Electra. Oedipus Tyrannus (inbunden)

Ajax. Electra. Oedipus Tyrannus

Ajax, Electra, Oedipus Tyrannus

Inbunden Engelska, 1994-01-01
Skickas inom 7-10 vardagar.
Gratis frakt inom Sverige över 159 kr för privatpersoner.
Sophocles (497/6?406 BCE), with Aeschylus and Euripides, was one of the three great tragic poets of Athens, and is considered one of the world's greatest poets. The subjects of his plays were drawn from mythology and legend. Each play contains at least one heroic figure, a character whose strength, courage, or intelligence exceeds the human norm?but who also has more than ordinary pride and self-assurance. These qualities combine to lead to a tragic end. Hugh Lloyd-Jones gives us, in two volumes, a new translation of the seven surviving plays. Volume I contains Oedipus Tyrannus (which tells the famous Oedipus story), Ajax (a heroic tragedy of wounded self-esteem), and Electra (the story of siblings who seek revenge on their mother and her lover for killing their father). Volume II contains Oedipus at Colonus (the climax of the fallen hero's life), Antigone (a conflict between public authority and an individual woman's conscience), The Women of Trachis (a fatal attempt by Heracles' wife to regain her husband's love), and Philoctetes (Odysseus's intrigue to bring an unwilling hero to the Trojan War). Of his other plays, only fragments remain; but from these much can be learned about Sophocles' language and dramatic art. The major fragments?ranging in length from two lines to a very substantial portion of the satyr play The Searchers?are collected in Volume III of this edition. In prefatory notes Lloyd-Jones provides frameworks for the fragments of known plays.
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. Ajax. Electra. Oedipus Tyrannus
  2. +
  3. Who Am I?

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt Who Am I? av Efimia D Karakantza (häftad).

Köp båda 2 för 485 kr


Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Sophocles

Recensioner i media

Hugh Lloyd-Jones was a very natural choice of editor...He gives a 22-page introduction on Sophocles' life, together with a very brief consideration of the seven plays and a short guide to further reading.--Greece and Rome Sir Hugh is providing, that is, what Nabokov, in rendering Eugene Onegin, called a metaphrase--a scrupulous, bare explanation of the original...Plainspun prose indeed, but attractively diaphanous. We can be pretty sure that these were the exact lexical intentions of Sophocles...Reading the seven Sophocles plays in the new Loeb version only confirms his impenetrable greatness.--Donald Lyons "New Criterion "

Övrig information

Sir Hugh Lloyd-Jones (1922-2009) was Regius Professor of Greek at Oxford University.