The Book of Goose (inbunden)
Fler böcker inom
Format
Inbunden (Hardback)
Språk
Engelska
Antal sidor
368
Utgivningsdatum
2022-09-29
Förlag
Fourth Estate Ltd
ISBN
9780008531812

The Book of Goose

Inbunden,  Engelska, 2022-09-29
245
Billigast på PriceRunner
  • Skickas från oss inom 2-5 vardagar.
  • Fri frakt över 249 kr för privatkunder i Sverige.
Finns även som
Visa alla 6 format & utgåvor
'A dazzling, subtle, skilful knockout I loved it' Charlotte Mendelson One of our finest living authors propulsively entertaining New York Times Wonderfully strange and alive Jon McGregor A propulsive, seductive new novel about friendship, exploitation and intimacy from the prize-winning author of Where Reasons End Fabienne is dead. Her childhood best friend, Agns, receives the news in America, far from the French countryside where the two girls were raised the place that Fabienne helped Agns escape ten years ago. Now, Agns is free to tell her story. As children in a backwater town, theyd built a private world, invisible to everyone but themselves until Fabienne hatched the plan that would change everything, launching Agns on an epic trajectory through fame, fortune, and terrible loss. A dark, ravishing tale winding from the rural provinces to Paris, from an English boarding school, to the quiet Pennsylvania home where Agns can live without her past. The Book of Goose is a story of intimacy and obsession, friendship and rivalry perfect for fans of Elena Ferrante, Ottessa Moshfegh and Kamila Shamsie. Beguiling A shimmering, unsettling tale of exploitation and manipulation Daily Mail Brilliant A novel of deceptions and cruelty Spectator For all its surface lushness, this is a novel of meticulous philosophical inquiryresonant with echoes of My Brilliant Friend, as well Elizabeth Strout electrifying Observer
Visa hela texten

Passar bra ihop

  1. The Book of Goose
  2. +
  3. Deluxe Hunger Games Collection (4 book set)

De som köpt den här boken har ofta också köpt Deluxe Hunger Games Collection (4 book set) av Suzanne Collins (inbunden).

Köp båda 2 för 1120 kr

Kundrecensioner

Har du läst boken? Sätt ditt betyg »

Fler böcker av Yiyun Li

Recensioner i media

Fans of Elena Ferrantes Neapolitan trilogy wont be disappointed, but the comparison undermines the skill with which Li tells her story, peeling back the layers to reveal the dark truths at the heart of Agnes and Fabiennes friendship Marie Claire [Li] has become one of our finest living authors: Her elegant metaphysics never elide the blood and maggots The most propulsively entertaining of Lis novels an existential fable that illuminates the tangle of motives behind our writing of stories New York Times Beguiling A shimmering, unsettling tale of exploitation and manipulation Daily Mail These two perverse, dangerous, glorious girls are their own creation and their own destiny, captured in the high noon of their lives Observer New Review Resonant with echoes of My Brilliant Friend, as well as authors including Elizabeth Strout and William Trevor For all its surface lushness, this is a novel of meticulous philosophical inquiry Observer Brilliant A novel of deceptions and cruelty Spectator 'Dazzling, subtle, skilful I loved it' Charlotte Mendelson, author of The Exhibitionist In a story about love and creation, Yiyun Li slips in a satire of the business of marketing authors deft and delicious Rowan Hisayo Buchanan, author of Starling Days Yiyun Li has, again, done something new and gone somewhere wonderfully strange and alive. Beautiful, sad, funny and claustrophobic Jon McGregor, author of Lean Fall Stand A haunting novel about loss, friendship and storytelling Few writers match Yiyun Lis ability to explore human desire and ambition Tash Aw, author of Strangers on a Pier Meet Agns and FabienneCome for the writerly scheming, stay for the exquisitely calibrated examination of how our most tender and important bonds involve the manipulation of power and devotion LA Times

Övrig information

Yiyun Li is the author of six books of fiction and two books of nonfiction, including Where Reasons End, and Dear Friend, from My Life I Write to You in Your Life. Her work has appeared in The New Yorker, The New York Review of Books, and other places. Her accolades include the Guardian First Book Award, the Sunday Times Short Story Award, a Windham-Campbell prize, a MacArthur Foundation fellowship, a Guggenheim fellowship, the PEN/Jean Stein Award and the 2022 PEN/Malamud Award for Excellence in the Short Story. She teaches at Princeton University, and lives in Princeton, New Jersey.